eclecticism


Also found in: Dictionary, Thesaurus, Encyclopedia, Wikipedia.

ec·lec·ti·cism

(ek-lek'ti-sizm),
1. A now defunct system of medicine that advocated use of indigenous plants to effect specific cures of certain signs and symptoms.
2. A system of medicine practiced by ancient Greek and Roman physicians who were not affiliated with a medical sect but who adopted the practice and teachings that they considered best from other systems.

Eclecticism

Medical history—naturopathy
An American healthcare movement founded by Dr Wooster Beach (1794–1868) that was rooted in Thomsonianism, a contemporary herb-based therapeutic system. The legacies of the Eclectics include laboratory production of drugs and elimination of crude forms of thereof, and the admission of women and minorities to their professional schools. Eclecticism disappeared by the mid-20th century.

eclecticism

(ĕk-lĕk′tĭ-sĭzm) [″ + -ismos, state of]
A system of herbal medical practice popularized in the late 19th and early 20th centuries by Finley Ellingwood.
References in periodicals archive ?
In what follows, I examine eclecticism by showing how it answers a specific question: whether government ought to be able to single out religious actors and entities for exclusion from its support programs without violating the Constitution.
Eclecticism as an Internal Solution to a Postcolonial Identity Crisis
Combining guitar-based rock with a more experimental electronic sound, the band's influences range from the bluesy rock of the Rolling Stones to the eclecticism and grandeur of Pink Floyd.
This eclecticism is purposeful; the heterogeneous formal and material language of the new extension, together with its visually open social spaces, endows the Walker with a democratic sense of accessibility for artists and public alike.
Strategic eclecticism is set forth as a basis from which to use divergent theories and techniques within narrative therapy, a process-oriented model informed by postmodernism.
In this stirring and engaging novel, Shay Youngblood inscribes herself in the genre of "books about the black artists' experience in Paris." As her main protagonist retraces the steps of her predecessors, the author writes with her soul in musical evocations as well as in the musicality and eclecticism of her melodious, rhythmic and sensual prose filled with rhymes, repetitions and musical echoes, embracing the Blues and the Jazz in the vein of Jean Toomer, Langston Hughes, James Baldwin or Ishmael Reed.
The show was created for top-quality dealers and designers (80 participating this year) to demonstrate the art of combining rare antiques with contemporary art and furnishings, creating unique styles of eclecticism.
For all their eclecticism, the Sadies never lose their own identity.
People crammed on to every square inch of grass with their carry--outs to hear rock 'n' roll from Mother And The Addicts and V-Twin, heartwarming tweeness from Camera Obscura and eclecticism from the James Orr Complex.
Subsequent chapters treat of Lyons, the French Renaissance cultural and printing capital, which produced a group of poets marked by autonomy, cosmopolitanism, and eclecticism. The Italianized literary scene is represented by Maurice Sceve, whose complex Delie recalls Petrarch's Laura in its subtle rhetoric and its mythical richness, although he differs from Petrarch both formally and metaphysically.
Distinctive in this part is S.'s appeal to a "reasoned eclecticism," by which he means that commending the faith is much more than an intellectual exercise: "Christianity is a way, it involves a person's thought, practice, values, experiences--and all of these in relation to others" (88).