rennet


Also found in: Dictionary, Thesaurus, Encyclopedia, Wikipedia.

chy·mo·sin

(kī'mō-sin),
An aspartic proteinase structurally homologous with pepsin, formed from prochymosin; the milk-curdling enzyme obtained from the glandular layer of the stomach of the calf. Acts on a single peptide bond (-Phe-Met-) in κ-casein.
Synonym(s): chymase, pexin, rennase, rennet, rennin

rennet

(rĕn′ĭt)
n.
1. An extract made from the inner lining of the fourth stomach of a calf or other young ruminant, used in cheesemaking to curdle milk.
2. A similar enzyme-containing substance obtained from certain other animals, plants, fungi, or bacteria.

rennet

(rĕn′ĕt) [ME.]
1. The lining of the fourth stomach of a calf.
2. A fluid containing rennin (chymosin), a coagulating enzyme, used for making junket or cheese.

rennet

extract of the abomasal mucosa of the unweaned calf used in curdling milk in the preparation of cheese.
References in periodicals archive ?
They increased in the order of Cheddar to fat-free Cheddar to acid to rennet wheys.
Many Jews who pay attention to kashrut--for example, the rabbis of the Conservative Rabbinical Assembly--believe that if the hard cheese is made from these rennet substitutes, the problem of eating "non-Jewish cheese" simply goes away.
Highest content of dry matter was attributed to treatment which made from 2% fungal rennet at 90 days of ripening.
We may even try and make a dessert made of sweetened milk coagulated with rennet (meaning 5).
Plaintiffs in the case include Jay and Karen Garnett, Terry Harper, David Mix, James Rennet, Scott Smith, Arthur Start and James and Laura Smith.
Coined in 1847, the term, according to the Cheshire-based Vegetarian Society, means: "Someone who eats no meat, poultry, fish, shellfish or crustacea and avoids by-products of the slaughterhouse such as gelatine, rennet and animal fats.
ANSWERS: 1 Tirana; 2 Filibustering; 3 Gordon Ramsey; 4 Equus; 5 Palme d'Or; 6 The London Marathon; 7 Brown to the live pin, blue to neutral, and green and yellow to earth; 8 Last Of The Summer Wine; 9 Monkey; 10 Rennet, obtained from animals' stomachs.
The cheesecakes are made with hormone-free cream cheese and sour cream made with vegetarian rennet, as well as organic evaporated cane juice and whole eggs.
Earlier this year, Mars UK, based in Slough, Berks, ditched a plan - following complaints - to replace vegetarian whey in products with an animal-derived rennet, so its bars could state "suitable for vegetarians".
From May 1, Mars changed the whey used in its sweet snacks from a vegetable source to one containing rennet, a natural enzyme produced in the stomachs of calves.
Mars had announced that it would use whey containing animal rennet in some chocolate and ice cream products.