clasper


Also found in: Dictionary, Thesaurus, Legal, Encyclopedia, Wikipedia.

clasper

(klăs′pər)
n.
1. Any of the appendages of the male of certain insects and crustaceans that are used during copulation to hold the female.
2. A posterior extension on each of the pelvic fins of male cartilaginous fishes that aids in the transmission of sperm during copulation.
Mentioned in ?
References in periodicals archive ?
But Clasper said they are "working very hard to improve things" and have hired 1000 extra call centre staff.
It has been assumed that the clasper has an open groove for its entire length which is closed over during copulation for a passageway for sperm.
Mr Clasper will continue to act as an adviser to BAA
BAA plc invites you to view a pre-recorded video interview with BAA's Chief Executive Mike Clasper which will be available on BAA's website from 07:30 GMT / 08:30 CET / 02:30 ET on 28 January 2005, at the following address:
Maturity in males was best described by an inflection in the relationship of clasper length to fork length when combined with clasper calcification.
AFTER 65 years together, Connie and Walter Clasper, left, are officially Britain's happiest married couple.
In their new roles, they will report directly to Stephen Clasper, Chief Executive - Whitney O'Neill Asia Pacific.
Steve Clasper ENTERTAINMENT: Geordie Shore has been in Newcastle on the hunt for new housemates in Tiger Tiger.
Evie Clasper, of Clasper, of E Ingleby Barwick, was born with hypoplastic left heart syndrome, a condition where the left side of the heart does not develop properly.
Pcs Stuart Clasper and Marc Kelly, along with PCSO Will Parker, set off from the hospital on Monday morning.
Now, the team has identified a long clasper, made entirely of bone, on another fish specimen.
Former BBC Director General Greg Dyke, long linked to a takeover bid for ITV, is third favourite at 5-1 but there have been whispers for 12-1 chance Mike Clasper, ex-boss of BAA.